East Fortune airfield saw action in two world wars. It now brings the story of aviation from the First World War to the present day through exhibitions inside and outside the airfield's hangars. The Museum of Flight’s collection dates back to 1909 and includes aircraft, engines, rockets, photographs, a reference library, archives, models, flying clothing, instruments and propellers. There are four main hangars, each housing a specific themed exhibition on the history of flight, and a number of aircraft. A range of different types of aircraft, ranging from military and commercial to pleasure craft are on display including an original Concorde. The Concorde Experience exhibition traces the story of the Concorde, going back to Chuck Yeager breaking the sound barrier in 1947, through to the design and build stage of the Concorde.
Opening Times: April–October, daily 10:00–17:00; open until 18:00 in July and August; November–March, weekends only 10:00–16:00 (also 27–31 December, 3–6 January, 9–17 February)