Linlithgow Palace (ruin) is the birthplace of Mary, Queen of Scots, and is set in a beautiful lochside location. All the Stuart Kings lived here from 1406 to 1689, as did Cromwell, Bonnie Prince Charlie, and, after the landmark Battle of Culloden, the troops of the Duke of Cumberland stayed at the Palace. Visitors can see the fountain in the centre of the Palace built around 1538 and the fireplace in the Great Hall restored in 1906.
Crossing the River Forth at Kincardine we the visit the enchanting conservation village of Culross, possessing a 400 year old history and an awe-inspiring atmosphere of bygone times. Visitors can explore the Old Town through the cobbled streets as well as see the ancient Mercat Cross (Market Cross).
The tour proceeds back over the Forth via the spectacular Forth Road Bridge with grand views of the famous Victorian rail bridge.
The Royal Burgh of Culross is a unique town that time has passed by; the most complete example in Scotland today of a Burgh of the 16th and 17th centuries. Here you can relive the domestic life of the 16th and 17th centuries amid the old buildings and cobbled streets of the Royal Burgh on the River Forth. It includes the chance to explore the beautiful refurbished palace and garden, dating from 1597. A walk around the town will take in The Causeways cobbled streets, the ruins of St Mungo’s chapel, the abbey and the old monastery as well as the West Kirk.
Palace, Study, and Town House: 2 Apr to 31 May, Thur–Mon 12–5; 1 Jun to 31 Aug, daily 12–5; 3 to 29 Sep, Thur–-Mon 12–5; 1 to 31 Oct, Thur–Mon 12–4. Garden: all year, daily 10–6 or sunset if earlier